Well, today is my little sister’s birthday.  I won’t say just how old she is, because I’m a few years older.  Suffice it to say that we are both a little older than in the picture!  Even though she’s not able to make it over to the Island for her birthday, I decided to make her a cake.  The cake I decided to make is out of a book that is a little older than she is, but the recipe sounded tasty, and it’s been handwritten into the book in such lovely handwriting that I wanted to give it a try.  Since I can’t eat coconut, I found a super easy icing method from another book.  I hope it turns out to be as easy as it sounds!

The book the recipe is written in is Helen Cramp’s 1913 The Institute Cookbook.  My copy was acquired by Marjorie, of Ocean Falls, in July of 1931.  She got the recipe for Lazy Daisy Cake, with Broiler Icing, from Hilda Frampton in 1934.

20161119_173035-01.jpeg

Lazy Daisy Cake

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla (I hope!  That’s how I interpreted it!)

1/2 cup milk

1 tbsp butter

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

salt

Beat egg, sugar and vanilla until thick.  Heat milk and butter and add.  Sift in flour, baking powder and salt and blend.  Bake for 30 minutes at 300°, in an 8×10 pan.  Buttered, I presume.  I used an 8ish inch round pan, since I always think round cakes look fancier.   With the round pan, the batter is deeper, so I’ll have to cook it longer than the half hour called for.

 What she means by lower on low, I have no idea.  Please feel free to enlighten me if you think you have it figured out.

Broiler Icing

3 tbsp butter

5 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp canned milk

1/2 cup coconut.

Cream butter and sugar.  Add milk and coconut.  Spread on cake as it comes from oven.  Put back in hot oven until golden brown.

The Chocolate Bar Cake Icing that I used was submitted to the Vancouver Sun’s 10th Annual Cook Book (mid 1940s) by Mrs. M. Thorne of Parker St in Vancouver, BC.  It’s not something I’d ever heard of before, seems really easy, and, Mrs. Thorne assures us, tastes swell!   Basically the idea is to just melt a chocolate bar onto your still warm cake.  Sounds like a win to me, but since the cake is still in the oven, I can’t tell you for sure just yet.

 20161119_175207-01.jpeg

The oven timer is beeping now, so I’ll go check on the cake, and share pictures and results with you tomorrow.

20161119_173220-01.jpeg
Another model kitchen. I love these old kitchens. This was the ideal kitchen around 1913, apparently.
