Well, I’m happy to report that the Lazy Daisy Cake recipe that Marjorie got from Hilda turned out perfectly!  Lovely flavour and texture.  My deep, round cake did take more time to bake, and I should have maybe done it in two layers, rather than the one.  Originally I’d intended to cut it and put raspberry jam between, but then realized that since I had to ice it still hot, that would be tricky, so I skipped it.  Even just plain cake, with chocolate, it was delicious and moist.  A definite make-again!

I’m not sure if the oven was still too hot when I put the cake back in with the chocolate bar on top, but that may have been the case since the chocolate was a little lumpy after melting.  It still tasted wonderful, though!  I used most of a large-sized Hershey milk chocolate bar, but using the whole thing would have provided better coverage.  With the sweet cake, a dark chocolate bar would have been a nice contrast, but milk was delightful too.

20161119_190039-01.jpeg

For those of you who are thinking silently to yourselves that you’ve certainly seen prettier cakes, I have to admit that this is not the ugliest birthday I’ve ever made for my sister.  I think the worst was one that ended up looking…. well, to be honest, more like a pile of reindeer droppings than anything else.  I’m not even going to try to explain.

