I love pancakes.  I make them fairly often, and though I have a go-to recipe I usually use, I often experiment with new recipes.  Because I’ve already shared a pancake recipe on here, I hesitated to post a new one again so soon, but since I have a new cookbook, I wanted to try the griddle cakes recipe out of it.  It turned out to be such a nice recipe, I feel it would be unfair of me to not share!

The new book is Ruth Wakefield’s Toll House Tried and True Recipes, first published in 1936. I have the 21st printing, from 1945.  If the name sounds familiar, it’s because Ruth Graves Wakefield, owner of the Toll House Inn, is the lovely lady who first created the chocolate chip cookie we all know and love.  The recipe for Toll House Chocolate Crunch Cookies are in the book, but since pretty much everyone already has the recipe (and if you don’t, a quick google search will find it for you) I don’t plan to blog about it, but the other recipes in the book are so fantastic, it’s probably going to make a few appearances on here.

Anyhow… back to the pancakes.  When I woke up yesterday morning, I spent a few minutes flipping through my new cookbooks, and the Griddle Cakes caught my eye.  And then I started thinking that I’d not had pancakes for breakfast for a while…. and that I had the time to make them before I had to go out.  The next thing you know, I’m measuring out buttermilk and melting butter.  While the recipe calls for sour milk, I usually have buttermilk in the fridge, so I use it a lot, and I used it here.  As a side note, I found a recipe for a “buttermilk plant” in another of my new books, so I’ll be trying that soon!

Though the recipe is pretty standard, I found that the resulting pancakes were super light and fluffy, and the flavour was just perfect.  Just a hint of sweet, not too bland.  A well-flavoured pancake is important to me, as my preferred way of eating them is with just butter.  And it wasn’t just me who liked them, the whole household did.  I had been thinking that the recipe was too large, and we’d be re-heating leftover pancakes for a week (no problem there!) but they were all gone surprisingly fast.  This is a recipe I definitely encourage you to try.  Mrs. Wakefield was a great cook!

20161117_071350-01.jpeg20161117_071405-01.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

