20170122_094723-01.jpegThe other morning, I was in the mood to try a different crumpet recipe.  The last ones I made were fine, but I was curious how they would be using a recipe without any yeast.  When I was looking for one with yeast to try when I first got my crumpet rings, it seemed that all I had in any of my books were recipes using baking powder, but when looking for a baking powder recipe, all that kept popping up were yeast recipes!

I finally found a recipe in The Bride’s Book of Household Management, which was compiled and edited by Frank R. Thompson and L. M. Geddis in the mid 20s.  It’s a charming book filled with recipes, household tips, and advertisements from the Vancouver area.

The recipe is straightforward enough, as the recipes in this book tend to be:

20170129_125843-01.jpeg

20170122_095635-01.jpegCrumpets —  Melt 1 heaping tablespoonful of lard; add 2 beaten eggs and 1 1/2 cupfuls Pacific milk.  Beat well, add 1 teaspoonful salt, 2 teaspoonfuls sugar, 3 teaspoonfuls baking powder sifted with 2 1/2 cupfuls flour.  Crumpet-rings are larger than muffin-rings.  Put greased rings on hot greased griddle; fill 2/3 with batter.  Turn when half done.

The crumpets cooked up quickly with no yeast to wait for, but I was a little disappointed in the flavour and texture.  They were delicious, don’t get me wrong, but more like a biscuit crossed with a pancake in texture.  I think I’ll stick to yeast recipes in my quest for the perfect crumpet.

20170129_125539-01.jpeg
An ad for a veterinary clinic.

 

