20170210_153643-01.jpeg
Atora ad

I came across this recipe the other day when I was looking for a brownie recipe, and it’s so far from what I was looking for, I thought I’d share it.  I’m not going to make it, at least not at this point, but it looked interesting.

The 14th edition of The Olio Cook Book was published in England in 1923, and has recipes for pretty much everything, and laundry, parenting, and housekeeping tips as well.  All in all, it’s a neat book.

My copy was originally owned by Lorna Emery of Nanaimo, B.C. who, according to the address she wrote on in the front of the book, only lived a couple of km from me.  I’ve looked online, but I’ve not been able to find any information about Lorna.

 

20170210_153713-01.jpeg
Raisley – The SURE raising powder.

Browny Cake

 

  • 1 lb flour
  • 1/4 lb butter (4 oz more if desired richer)
  • 1/2 sultanas or currants – I assume half a pound, but the book doesn’t specify
  • 6 oz sugar, Dem.
  • 1 1/2 teaspoonful bi-carbonate soda
  • 2 tablespoonsful vinegar

Rub butter into flour, mix in sugar and fruit, put soda into the vinegar and milk (milk isn’t mentioned in the ingredient list, I didn’t just forget it,) stir together, and add to ingredients.  Bake 2-3 hours.

