I’ve been away for a week for a wedding (congratulations, Mark and Elizabeth!) and I came down with a cold within two days of getting home.  Not fun!  I found some remedies in the Tried Favourites Cookery Book.  Some seem like they might actually be helpful – honey is supposed to be great for sore throats and coughs, but others are a bit confusing.

20170301_101910-01.jpeg

The above, for instance.  Do you cover your knees with the blanket while still in the tub?  Do I really want a soggy blanket over my knees?  And what am I rubbing after the fifteen minutes is up?  My knees?  All of me?  I think I’ll just skip straight to the part where I get to bed quickly with  a hot drink.

20170301_101915-01.jpeg

My voice is still scratchy, too, so I might have to try one of the below remedies.  I do have some lemons in the fridge, so I might actually try baking one.  No promises, but if I do try it, I’ll let you know if it helped.

20170301_101758-01.jpeg

The Tried Favourites Cookery Book was written by Mrs. E.W.Kirk.  I have the seventh edition, which was published sometime before 1907.

