20170430_153140-01
Canada’s Prize Recipes, published in 1930.

I was flipping though a few cookbooks, looking for a muffin recipe to make for breakfast, and I came across another crumpet recipe.  I’m all for crumpets, and as these ones are made without yeast, I decided to make them for a quickish breakfast.  The recipe comes from 1930, out of a book called Canada’s Prize Recipes.  The book was compiled by the Canada Starch Company.

 

I assembled ingredients and melted butter, and since I didn’t have any syrup, I warmed some honey to make it liquid.  I put everything into a bowl and tried to beat it.  A dry, crumbly mess was the result.  I’d figured from the proportions that the result would be a fairly stiff dough rather than a batter, but this wasn’t even a dough.  I ended up adding at least a cup of milk before I got a more reasonable consistency.

I let the dough rest, though it never really got light.  While waiting, I consulted the beginning of the chapter, in case it said something along the  lines of  “all recipes in this chapter should include a cupful of milk, but we won’t bother saying so in the recipe.”  No notes of any sort.

 

Although they are called crumpets, they don’t instruct you to use a crumpet ring, but rather a waffle iron or frying pan.   I went with the frying pan, since i didn’t want to spend forever cooking the batter one tablespoonful at a time in my waffle maker.  The end result was tiny, lightly sweet, honey flavoured pancakes.  They are quite tasty topped with peanut butter and a slice of banana, or butter, or jam.  Or pretty much anything that catches your fancy, I would imagine.

20170429_104224-01
The recipe.  I added at least a cup of milk to make it into a medium thin batter.

They were simple to make, and different enough from a regular pancake that these will likely end up in my regular recipe rotation.  I’m also intrigued to see how they turn out when I do have more time and can use my thin, Scandinavian waffle iron.

 

