Coffee jelly sounds delicious.  Coffee…. jelly…. delicious dessert…. what’s not to love?

For me, it turns out what’s not to love is coffee jelly.  I guess I should have known.  I’m not one for cold coffee drinks, I prefer my coffee piping hot.  If you do like cold coffee, however, this one might be worth trying.

With only four ingredient – coffee, cold water, sugar and gelatin – it went together quickly and easily.  Served with whipped cream, it would make a light, unusual dessert for summertime… IF you like cold coffee.

20170328_172821I followed the recipe, but when I went to pour it into the mould, there was far too much jelly for one, so I added some cream to the rest and poured it into a second  mould.  Despite my love of cream in my coffee, I have to say that I liked the black one better.  Which is not to say that I loved the black one!

The recipe is as follows:

2 tablespoonfuls gelatin,

1/2 cupful cold water,

3 cupfuls coffee,

3/4 cupful sugar.

Soak the gelatin in cold water five minutes and dissolve in the hot coffee; add the sugar, stir until dissolved, and turn into a mold.  Serve with whipped cream.

It was a fairly soft jelly, and extra gelatin would help it sit more upright after being unmoulded, but it worked well as it is written.  It was certainly not a bad dessert, and we both ate it, but it’s not quite to my taste.

This recipe was published in Household Discoveries and Mrs. Curtis’s Cook Book in 1908.  Sidney Morse is the author of the first section, Household Discoveries, and Isabel Gordon Curtis wrote the cookbook part.  It’s quite a thick book that I have yet to finish exploring.  I’m sure I’ll post other recipes and domestic tips from it sooner or later.

