20170829_095736-01
Strike up a warm acquaintance with your oven and its special temperament.

After a pork roast, we had some leftover meat, and while my usual way to use it up after we get tired of cold meat sandwiches is to make a pulled barbecue pork for hot sandwiches, I decided it was time to try something new.  Let me just tell you right now that pulled pork is WAY better than pork croquettes!  So much better!  I am posting this recipe more as a caution to avoid it than for you to try it.

 

I’m not sure why I disliked the croquettes so much.  The texture wasn’t great, the taste was meh, and somehow the combination was just worse.  Luckily there was tasty parsley sauce to put on them, you’re thinking, but no.  Parsley sauce didn’t help.  In fact, parsley sauce didn’t have as much flavour as I’d been anticipating.  And while it did have a proper white sauce texture, while I was eating it, I couldn’t help but mentally compare the similarities between white sauce and homemade paste.

20170328_152146Part of the problem might have been that I’m kind of a lazy chopper, so rather than a very fine mince, the meat was still a little chunky, but that wasn’t the whole problem.  There was just something I found incredibly unappetizing about the whole thing, and the appearance of the mixture before it was cooked certainly didn’t help.

Over all, this was just a bad meal, though at least the peas weren’t out of a can, as they likely would have been during the era these recipes were written.  We ate it, and even finished the leftover croquettes the next day, but we will NOT be trying it again.  Ever.

20170829_095811-01

I pan-fried mine, rather than deep-frying, mainly because I don’t deep fry.  Other than leaving the meat too chunky, I followed the recipe, so I guess that in the 50s taste was less important than eliminating food waste.

 

20170829_100538-01
I made the thick white sauce using Method 1, adding 4 tablespoons of minced parsley.

20170829_100145-01

20170829_100211-01

These recipes came out of The American Woman’s Cook Book, 1955 edition.  It was edited by Ruth Berolzheimer.  Below are some rather ambitious salads that are pictured in the book.  I did not serve either with my croquettes.

20170829_100005-01

