Crackling Bread

20180410_170928-01.jpeg
Hot from the oven

Crackling bread is something I’ve always heard of, but I’ve never actually had it.  I recently tracked down a source of free, free range, pasture raised pork fat, and decided to try making lard, which turned out to be ridiculously easy, but as I’ve not actually used my lard yet, I don’t know if it’s going to be nice and flavorless like store-bought lard, or if it will have a decided “porky” taste.  Either way, it will get used, so I’m happy with it.  The added benefit is a big bowl of crackling.  My plan is to freeze it in one cup portions for future batches of crackling bread, or any other recipes I find.

Of course I went straight to my Fine Old Dixie Recipes book for the recipe, because what could be more southern than crackling cornbread?  Not being southern, or actually knowing anyone who is, I don’t know the answer to that, so feel free to fill me in.

The recipe is a straightforward cornbread recipe, and easy to follow.  I soured my milk with a bit of lemon juice and left it to sit while I whisked up the dry ingredients.  After stirring in the sour milk and cracklings, I popped it into a preheated oven for half an hour.  I used an 8×8 inch baking pan.  I’m not sure how you would go about forming the batter into small, oblong cakes, as it’s not very thick, but it worked out perfectly made as a cake.

20180410_150857-01.jpeg

This is not one of the super moist cornbread recipes, but it is good, and the crackling, while not crisp, added little bites of flavour.  If you like heat, I think it would be nice with some hot pepper flakes added too.  The finished bread is a little crumbly, as cornbread tends to be, but it’s nice.  You’ll notice that this recipe contains no sugar, which I think is better with the salty crackling.  While I liked this recipe a fair bit, hubby liked it even more, and thought it was better than the sausage cornbread.  I had a piece for breakfast today, and it’s not bad cold, either, but I think for dinner tonight I will reheat it.

20180410_150942-01.jpeg
The inside book

Fine Old Dixie Recipes has wooden covers held together with red rings, a paperback book inside.  It was compiled and edited by Lillie S. Lustig, S. Claire Sondheim and Sarah Rensel.  The decorations (illustrations?) are by H. Charles Kellum.  Printed in 1939, it is perhaps the most politically incorrect book I’ve ever seen.  The illustrations are mostly of African-Americans, accompanied by little blurbs written in “dialect” that is none too flattering.  While most references to “negroes” and “Coloureds” are presented in a respectful manner, it’s still a bit of an uncomfortable read in parts.  I have to keep reminding myself that this books is from a very different time and place, and thankfully the world had made progress since then.

 

20180410_151027-01.jpeg

20180410_151118-01.jpeg
I think the picture here is from the recipe above; Kentucky Burgoo, the recipe for which makes 1200 gallons.  It calls for 600 pounds of meat, 200 pounds of fat hens, 2000 pounds of peeled and diced potatoes, and 24 ten pound cans of carrots, among other things.  There is also a more modestly sized version of the recipe in the book.

 

Leave a comment